Badlands National Park (Les mauvaises terre a traverser)

I did not plan to visit Badlands National Park. The park was in the right place at the right time. My visit came about because I needed gas. I got of on the exit. I got gas. Then I saw a sign that said “Badlands 8”. Given that it was such a short distance. I thought…hmmmm..why not? Little did I know it would probably be one of the most interesting National parks I have ever seen.

Badlands National Park sits on the edge of the Great Plains. It has 244,000 acres. 64,000 of which is pristine National Wilderness. According to a Park Ranger I spoke with, a person has the possibility of spotting animals; such as, big horn sheep, coyotes, black-footed ferrets, swift foxes bison and mule deer.

The Badlands is a very impressive place. Pictures do not do it justice. Do not get me wrong, I took MANY. absolutely¬†none of my photos did the park justice. This is a place I think everyone should go. John Steinbeck was right when he wrote, “The Badlands look like the work of an evil small child”.

Leave a Reply

