Good Morning Vietnam!

Good Morning Vietnam. After a lot of thinking and wanderlust craving, I have decided the next place I am taking a vacation is Vietnam. I have wanted to go to Vietnam for quite a while now and after receiving a job offer from Disney English in China, I think it is time to plan this. Unlike some of my vacations this is going to take some planning. The only question I have is where to start? North? South? Maybe the North-Central provinces? Or just fly into Ho Chi Minh city and use it as a base? The only thing I know for sure is I am spending more than just a few days, much more.

One thought on “Good Morning Vietnam!

  1. Good choice …as for me, I’ve had the wanderlust craving for years …never wanted to go to Vietnam, but, through circumstances ended up landing in Saigon (yes, Saigon, as the locals call it, not HCM) last year … and, after three weeks, it is one of my favorite countries in the world (in a long list including Italy, USA, Canada, England, Germany, Belgium, Amsterdam, Morocco, Yemen, Oman, UAE, China, Japan, turkey, Syria, Jordan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Togo, Ghana, Benin, Mali, Senegal, Burkina Faso, India, Nepal, Thailand, Laos, Myanamr, Afghanistan, etc, etc …you get the idea) …Saigon is a great start. Don’t miss Hoi An and Hue (take the overnight train up from Saigon to Danang), absolutely beautiful!!! The people there …spectacular …from there head up to Hanoi …one of my favorite cities in SE Asia …make sure you stay in the Old Quarter …that picture above, Halong Bay, …never knew it existed until I was there …touristy, yes, but simply spectacular …get on a good boat, make sure it’s a junk, and be prepared to “mingle” with the tourists, but also mingle with the locals …don’t miss Sapa either …so much to see. I could move there and stay for a lifetime …never wanted to go, can’t wait to go back (this winter) …full of life, spectacular people, great food, history to make the most historical country cringe …and cheap …The “Beautiful Saigon” in Saigon, the “Ha’an” in Hanoi, “Hanoi Elegance” in Hanoi …Sapa, take your pick of hotels. Have fun…

Leave a Reply

