Never get Too Comfortable~ Turkey

A lot of people ask me, what is my best advice to for travelers? Well, my answer to this questions is simple. Never get too comfortable with traveling. Never let your guard down.

I have been traveling most of my adult life. I have been too many countries and in many situations. I thought (not conscientiously) I would never get taken. I was wrong. I arrived in Istanbul from Frankfort. When I got off the plane, I looked around for some of the hotel/hostel accommodations. I did not see any. I saw the airport hotel service. I thought since I had a little extra money, I would just use them. I walked in. Told them what I was looking for. The man behind the counter said, I don’t know why, but there is barely any rooms  in Istanbul tonight. Keep in mind at the moment I was really tired. I thought maybe just one night.  The man asked me how long I was staying in Istanbul. The man (after telling me he lived in New Jersey) told me, he thinks he can find a room. Then he quoted me 135 Euros. I thought, I would stay there one night and get my head in order. The man then took my credit card and told me I had to prepay. I ended up paying for my entire stay then. The location of the hotel was okay~across from the British embassy~ but the room on the other hand..see pictures. Other than a horrible hotel, Istanbul was an okay city. I probably would have liked it better if I did a little more research. (I leave my research obsession for another blog)

2 thoughts on “Never get Too Comfortable~ Turkey

  1. If it makes you feel any better, one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in was in New Jersey. Hmm…wonder if there is a correlation there…

Leave a Reply

